Wednesday, August 11, 2010

Three types of CPT codes

What are CPT codes ?

The Current Procedural Terminology® (CPT®) code set is maintained by the American Medical Association through the CPT Editorial Panel.  The CPT code set accurately describes medical, surgical, and diagnostic services and is designed to communicate uniform information about medical services and procedures among physicians, coders, patients, accreditation organizations, and payers for administrative, financial, and analytical purposes.

There are three types of CPT codes:

Category I CPT Code(s)
Category II CPT Code(s) – Performance Measurement
Category III CPT Code(s) – Emerging Technology

CPT is currently identified by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) as Level 1 of the Health Care Procedure Coding System (HCPCS).  The HCPCS code set also includes additional codes that begin with a letter.  Those additional codes are used in conjunction with the CPT code set to identify other supplies (including DME - durable medical equipment) and procedures not currently listed in the CPT code set.

CPT is a registered trademark of the American Medical Association.  Although the CPT system is mandated by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and HIPAA, and the data for it appears in the Federal Register, the American Medical Association (AMA) maintains that their copyright of the CPT.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Most read cpt modifiers